A Map of Fat Feminism

Recently I started to reconnect with a close friend of mine. She’s one of the very best and very closest of my friends, and we’re moving in together at the end of this semester. She’s very outgoing and fiery and self assured, so it came as a surprise to me when I found out very recently that she absolutely, completely, 100% hates her body.

She’s a big girl with that full, thick, black middle eastern hair (you know what I’m talking about, right? There is just about nothing prettier than an indian girl’s hair, imho), a very pretty face and a personality just abrasive enough to be hilarious and liberating. But I have never SEEN a person with more fat-hate.

Since I’ve discovered feminism, I’ve developed an ear for problematic oppressive language of any kind, and I hear it pouring from this girl. But, since I’ve discovered feminism, I haven’t really explored fatphobia. It hasn’t interested me, it hasn’t really effected me (HA!), and I’ve just found other things more interesting. This is a problem that I, obviously, need to fix. Because I hear problematic language coming from this girl, who i love to bits and pieces, full of hate for herself, no matter who it is directed at, and just because I recognize the language doesn’t mean i have the specific tools to combat it.

So, I need to go off and educate myself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

