Day Late and a Dollar Short: Amanda Marcotte Kerfluffle

So I was bored and decided to troll Manboobz, because just because I’m tired of feeding trolls doesn’t mean i’m tired of watching other people feed them.  Anyway, I decided to read the comment Amanda nicknamed the Whore of Babylon, just to see what kind of troll reaction there was on the original thread. That’s when I stumbled upon the following comment by a person who calls themself “Fuck MRAs”

But hey, at least Thomas Ball knew the only thing on Earth he was good for… Kindling.

Don’t hold back dude.  Tell us how you REALLY feel.

Now you would think that this comment, only a handful of comments down from Amanda’s comment heard ’round the world, would raise a much bigger stink in the MRA interbutt than the relatively well known fact that abusers (male AND female!) use suicide as a bargaining chip.  (Or maybe I just feel like that’s the case.  I had an ex who, while not someone I would term abusive, loved to throw around the suicide and self-harm threats.  Especially if I was saying something he didn’t like.)  Mysteriously, however, that did not happen.  Maybe it has something to do with how Holly Pervocracy completely shut Fuck MRAs down.

But hey, at least Thomas Ball knew the only thing on Earth he was good for… Kindling.
Really not okay.

The guy committed suicide. I don’t think this means he was right to abuse his child or refuse counseling, but it gets him some sympathy from me–his pain was genuine even if it wasn’t justified, and he likely had mental problems beyond just “being a jerk.” It’s gross when the MRAs try to exploit a suicide to make it somehow “prove” how serious they are; but it’s gross when we make fun of suicides. Let’s please not go there.

Can’t really use the kindling comment to bitch about how mean those feminists are and how much they hate men when a pretty prominent feminist blogger shuts it down for the hate speech that it is, can you?

She was further backed up by kirbywarp:

Fuck MRAs:

“But hey, at least Thomas Ball knew the only thing on Earth he was good for… Kindling.
Really not okay.”

Holly, I frankly do not give one flying fuck if you think it’s OK. I stand by what I said. That man was an abusive scumbag and I’m glad he killed himself. I’m not trying to win any nice person contests here.

Kirbywarp:

Then vent somewhere else.

Succinct and to the point.  No arguments, no feeding the trolls, just a GTFO.  Not even NWOSlave, a particularly hateful and myopic troll, gets a GTFO.  They just argue and laugh and pet him on the head like he’s a particularly grumpy puppy that pees on your couch.  They’re more likely to play therapist to Mens Rights Activist Lieutenant who, while not as belligerent as NWOSlave, is still rude, offensive, and prone to confirmation bias.

This is why I don’t understand criticisms of feminism that pretty much boil down to “Feminists hate men and laugh at men in pain.”   Because no one is laughing.

3 Comments

Filed under Feminism, Ranty McRant Rant, Someone is Wrong on the Internet!

3 responses to “Day Late and a Dollar Short: Amanda Marcotte Kerfluffle

  1. Fuck MRAs

    You call that being shut down?

    Did you miss the part where I did not get shut down, and instead, kept posting?

    Did you also miss the part where I stand by what I said?

  2. Fuck MRAs

    Zero tolerance for abusers.

    ZERO.

    And that goes for men AND women.

  3. -blink- Well, this is delayed.

    Zero tolerance =/= justification for flinging the same kind of shit.

    I stand by what I said too. You were wrong to say that. What he did was much more wrong, but that doesn’t excuse inexcusable behavior.

Leave a Reply

