I just had a wonderful moment.

I’ve been on a Tim Minchin binge. I just came across a song of his called “Confessions – Feminism, Poverty (Altruism), Environment.” Now, when it comes to comedians, I always cringe when I come across the word “feminism” because it almost always seems to turn into some hairy man-hating strawfeminist bashing. I was expecting the same tired old jokes that would forever lower yet another otherwise hilarious comedian in my esteem, so it was with great reluctance that I pressed play.

But that didn’t happen.

I love you forever, Tim Minchin.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I just had a wonderful moment.

  1. Sasha

    ❤ Tim Minchin is amazing. "If I Didn't Have You" is probably my favorite love song. I think this song really points out that while certain actions may be associated with negative societal trends, individual preferences (socialized or not, because let's get serious, we're all socialized in one way or another.) are really okay!

    I feel like people have a hard time making this distinction, mostly because of the emotions.

    Who is I, making this long, rambly comment on your blog? A fan of your writing that found you through lurking on NSWATM.

  2. I can’t even tell you how much I love “If I Didn’t Have You.” A wonderful rejection of our society’s romance myth while at the same time completely embracing thing things that are actually important in a relationship.

    I think this song really points out that while certain actions may be associated with negative societal trends, individual preferences (socialized or not, because let’s get serious, we’re all socialized in one way or another.) are really okay!

    Yes! That is what I love about it! Because you get down with your bad self and love those boobs! Especially after displaying a solid understanding of the basics of what feminism tries to fight for. Especially especially when I was expecting the punchline to be “But I really wish you’d shave your legs and stop hating men all the time.”

    Welcome from NSWATM! I’m glad you like my little ramblings ^////////^

Leave a Reply

